Thank You (KiWo)

The Dan McBrides - Thank You (KiWo)

Release 2023/06/02
The debut single from Irish band The Dan McBrides is an upbeat folk-pop song, titled "Thank You (KiWo)". It is a tribute to the renowned Kieler Woche sailing and street festival. Lead singer Cathal Dolan, who has been an integral part of the festival for 25 years, worded the song as a celebration of his long standing connection to this iconic event.

Cathal Dolan expressed his excitement about the festival: "I love the Kieler Woche! What better way to commemorate my 25th anniversary at the festival than by headlining a show on the Rathaus Buhne with a talented group of musicians, performing one of our original songs, and hopefully, having the entire crowd singing it back to us."

The single "Thank You (KiWo)" was recorded at the prestigious Crooked Wood studios in Slane, Ireland, known for hosting artists like Ed Sheeran and Dermot Kennedy. Slane, a quaint village with a population of just a few hundred, boasts one of the world's most remarkable open-air music venues, Slane Castle. With a staggering capacity of over 80,000, the natural amphitheater has witnessed unforgettable performances by legendary acts such as U2, Madonna, Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones, The Foo Fighters, Robbie Williams, and many others.

The formation of The Dan McBrides took inspiration from the age-old tradition of musicians coming together in a pub setting. Their story began at the "Irish Pub KiWo," a pop-up establishment located in the International Markt at the Kieler Woche. During the 2022 festival, Cathal Dolan was joined by singer Adam Grimes and violin player The Fiddler for a spontaneous session. The chemistry they experienced while playing together sparked the formation of the band. Months later, they welcomed Dan Molloy Battigan on bass and Ethan McBride on drums, solidifying The Dan McBrides as a full-fledged musical ensemble.

Band members include Cathal Dolan on lead vocals and guitar, Adam Grimes on lead vocals and guitar, The Fiddler on the fiddle, Dan Molloy Battigan on bass guitar, and Ethan McBride on drums.


01Thank You (KiWo)